Hitting the ground running

by Bruce Williams, Director of Multicultural Audiences

Okay, so this is my first blog as a new employee at the Indiana State Museum. This is such a perfect job for me that I am pinching myself to make sure I’m not dreaming. But if I were, I’d ask that you not wake me. As Director of Multicultural Audiences I get to do what I enjoy doing most — being creative, developing multicultural programs and building audiences.

Since joining the staff a few months ago, I have taken on the “BIG” task of planning REPRESENT Family Day, an exciting full-day event done in conjunction with Black History Month. The event is a public program of the museum’s new exhibit REPRESENT. You’ll see lots of cool stuff in this collection by Hoosier African-American artists, especially Dark Fantasy by emerging artist Walter Lobyn Hamilton. This is a large work of art featuring a woman made from cracked vinyl records. There are 40 pieces in the show you do not want to miss seeing.

So if you are thinking that downtown Indianapolis will be deserted with nothing to do one week following Super Bowl XVLI, don’t kid yourself. We will be rocking at the Indiana State Museum to the gospel sounds of national recording artists Napoleon Williams and True Friends True Praise. Krash Krew will have everyone on their feet dancing and hip hop verbal artists Counter Culture will inspire us with contemporary stories of struggle and courage. This is definitely not the event to pass over.

So between times, I need you to pull out your iPhone and mark this date “busy!”  See ya Feb. 11!

Leave a Reply

