On My Honor

…I will try, to do my duty to God and my country, to help other people at all times and to obey the Girl Scout Laws….well, that’s how I remembered the pledge from my own scouting days!  Now, a more p.c. version states,

On my honor, I will try:
     To serve God* and my country,
     To help people at all times,
     And to live by the Girl Scout Law.

( The word “God” can be interpreted in a number of ways, depending on one’s spiritual beliefs. When reciting the Girl Scout Promise, it is okay to replace the word “God” with whatever word your spiritual beliefs dictate.)

One way or the other, the Girls Scout National Convention is coming to Indianapolis this fall, and as part of that, the Indiana State Museum is presenting a historical look at Girl Scouts since 1912.  The artifacts have already started arriving, and here are a couple of my favorites:

This, a letter from GS founder Juliette Gordon Low to Indiana’s first GS leader….written by hand, with fountain pen, in 1918!!

 

And this one, some old wax paper bags which used to hold GS cookies, before they used boxes…and a couple of boxes from WAY long ago!  I was somewhat fascinated….aren’t you?

One Response

  1. Thanks for hosting this exhibit. I look forward to bringing my 3rd grade Brownies to see it!

Leave a Reply

